The Texas Campaign to Prevent Teen Pregnancy recently honored State Rep. Sarah Davis at its 2nd annual Leadership Luncheon. The luncheon, which was attended by nearly 200 community members and policymakers, helps fund and raise awareness about the Texas Campaign’s work to reduce unintended teen pregnancies across the state. Kelly McBeth, Texas Campaign Board Chair, presented Rep. Davis with the Texas Campaign Leadership Award for her passion, dedication and hard work in support of a healthier Texas.

“At the Texas Campaign for Teen Pregnancy we don’t have the luxury of having easy conversations,” said McBeth. “Our conversations are difficult and sometimes even uncomfortable, which is exactly why we need someone like Rep. Davis taking the lead on our issues. She is tough, she is principled and she is a champion for a healthier, more prosperous Texas. We need more lawmakers like her to take a stand on tough public policy issues.”

In her keynote remarks, Rep. Davis spoke about her vision for a healthier Texas and the importance of working together to make an impact. “I’m honored the Texas Campaign chose to recognize my work to address common sense policy issues that can help prevent unintended teen pregnancies,” said Davis. “By working together to enact change we can improve the quality of life for children and families across the state.”

The luncheon also featured a live interview with two former teen parents who offered their candid, poignant – and sometimes humorous – advice on how to have conversations with teenagers about sex and pregnancy prevention. The conversation with Corey Jones and Laura Slavin was moderated by veteran reporter, Judy Maggio of KLRU, providing a “real world” perspective on the long-term impacts of teen pregnancy.

Dr. David Wiley, Founder and Texas Campaign Board member, provided closing remarks and a call to action. The event raised needed funds to support the Texas Campaign’s efforts to educate, advocate and work to expand access to the most effective methods of birth control.


Gold Sponsor

CommuniCare Health Centers

Ruby Sponsors

American Congress of Obstetricians and Gynecologists; Cindy Ballard; Dr. Kim Carter; Ellie Coplin; Michele Gonzalez; Kelly McBeth/Texas Energy Lobby; Lily Mitchell; Dr. Cynthia Osborne/LBJ School of Public Affairs, UT Austin; Mitchell Rosen; Marcia Silverberg, HR Directions; Dr. Peggy Smith; Melanie Susswein; ThunderCloud Subs; Dr. David Wiley

Bronze Sponsors

Austin Area OB/GYN and Fertility; BSWH – All Saints; Cardea; Dr. Jan Realini

Youth Leaders Sponsors

Methodist Healthcare Ministries of South Texas; Nancy Neavel; Texas Solutions Group

Host Committee

Cindy Ballard, Dr. Kim Carter, Hector Campos, Dr. Jan Realini, and Dr. Peggy Smith

WordPress Lightbox